Skip to content

Warhol in the District

November 28, 2011

 

Over the holiday I went to see Andy Warhol “Warhol: Headline” at the National Gallery of Art.  After having the misfortune of missing out on Hirshhorn’s “Shadows” exhibit earlier in the month it was a treat to expand my sense of Warhol as an artist.

What struck me most was the limited view I now realize I’d had of Warhol. When I think of Warhol I automatically think of his pop art or outlandish statements on individuality.

The headlines exhibit showed an unknown side of the artist. His work for the National Enquire and the New York Post and his prints of John F. Kennedy’s assassination and funeral, all work of a man with much more substance than I’d given him credit for. Beauty and simplicity always comes to mind when I think of this artist, but the ability to transform fact into brilliant art don’t. Luckily the National Gallery of Art changed that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

