Skip to content

Operation Santorum

February 15, 2012

Okay full disclosure as much as I enjoy politics I’m still deeply uncomfortable with anything that seems to discredit voters’ intelligence–regardless of party. It’s why I don’t agree with voter registration restrictions, get queasy when discussing opposition research, and why as much as I like watching negative ads I wish they  weren’t so impacting.

When I learned that the Daily Kos’s Markos Moulitsas was launching a Rush Limbaugh style campaign to connivence Democrats (titled Operation Hillary) to vote for Santorum during the primaries I had two thoughts immediately: firstly that’s too slimy for my taste and secondly it’s not politically necessary.

I don’t feel obligated to explain the first half of my thought process, the thinking behind voting for a candidate you don’t support taints the civic responsibility to vote. It’s a moral gray area much like ‘borrowing’ things without permission or signing a petition with incorrect information. You understand it’s not moral or upstanding, you’re just unclear about how wrong it is.

To my second thought, that it’s ultimately unnecessary I’d like to remind everyone that the GOP primary is already artifically elongated. It seems like a longer primary because Republican leadership thought it would provide them with more ammunition to get out their base. It’s mathematically impossible to gain enough delegates to win the nomination until April, at the earliest.

The GOP spent all of 2011 crafting new rules to change their primary, let’s allow them to live with the consequences without getting our hands dirty.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 11:14 AM

    awesome post! Keep up the neat work!

    • Brittani Haywood permalink*
      February 18, 2012 11:38 AM

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

